Episode 7: Interview with Jenni Funk

Here’s the audio for this episode.

endever*: Welcome to AAC Town! Just because we don’t speak doesn’t mean we have nothing to say.

[Short cheerful piano music]

endever*: Hi AAC Town friends! Today Sam and I are interviewing our friend Jenni, who I first got to know at a social group for AAC users in our city. I always love talking to her so this was a treat to hear more about her today.

endever*: Tell us a little about yourself.

Jenni: My name is Jenni Funk. I live in an apartment with my Chiweenie, Coco. 

Sam: How did you get your start using AAC?

Jenni: Wow, it’s been so long, I can’t remember!

Bekah: Sam’s laughing over here at that. Do you feel that way too? You’re starting to forget some of the things from early childhood?

All: [laughter]

Sam: What kind of communication device do you use?

Jenni: I use Proloquo2Go software on an iPad.

Sam: I have been using assistive technology since I was a kid. I had some bad teachers who didn’t believe in me. When I was fourteen there was a speech therapist who gave me a chance and taught me to use my first device. I still smile when I think about her, because she helped me be able to speak to the general public. It makes me want to cry when I think about the fact that I had to wait till I was fourteen to have a communication device. I think the latest a student should get a device is seven years old. I think the younger the better! Jenni, can you tell us about your history with speech therapy? What was it like in school? What kinds of devices have you used?

Jenni: I first had speech therapy when I was about four or five. It was not fruitful so I focused on physical therapy instead. 

Sam: Can you send email from your device? How does it work?

Jenni: I don’t email from my Proloquo tab, but I do have email on my iPad.

endever*: What do you wish strangers knew about how to interact with you as an AAC user?

Jenni: Please talk to me as you would anyone else. I understand everything you say. I am not Deaf. I am just unable to speak.

Sam: What do you want people who support AAC users to know?

Jenni: Please talk to me as you would anyone else. I understand everything you say. I am not Deaf. I am just unable to speak.

endever*: What would you tell someone just starting out with AAC?

Jenni: To get help with it. 

Sam: Do you have a job or do you volunteer? If not, what do you like to do with your time?

Jenni: My dream is to someday open an indoor dog park, where I would hire developmentally delayed employees. I do not think that job developers can recognize some of our skills, and overlook many opportunities for us. I’ve been through voc rehab five times but with little luck. One of my first trainings to determine my job skills was at the Oregon Trail Center, where I wore a pioneer dress. I loved it, but it was volunteer and it went away. I also volunteered at Willamette Falls TV but the job stopped being challenging. I also worked at my father’s [unclear] shop until it moved to California. Voc rehab did find me a job at Hollywood Video, and I really loved it and was quite successful, but then they closed the business. They also found me a job at Nature’s Acres dog board and kennel, and I loved it but had to stop because of issues with my back and I was sad and frustrated that I had to leave.

endever*: Do you have any hobbies?

Jenni: I like to play with my dog, and hang out with my providers. We work on puzzles and play games together. In the past I have also taken up knitting and making cards.

Sam: What kinds of technical issues do you run into using your device?

Jenni: My dog is not able to hear commands clearly enough so she doesn’t listen, and sometimes I have a hard time pushing the buttons on a screen when they are too small. I would love to try a new app.

endever*: Best question for last! Tell us about your dog.

Jenni: New puppy she named Coco. She is a Chiweenie which is part Chihuahua and Daschund. She was found tied to a tree and is cold weather in Marion County. Coco is very small but very very long. She is fourteen inches from her neck to her tail!

endever*: All right listeners, that’s it from Sam and Jenni and I today! Thanks so much for listening. Jenni, thanks for being our guest. As always, if you have feedback for us, or ideas, please email us at AACTownPodcast@gmail.com. Have a good one!

[Short cheerful piano music]

Published by endever*

hi! i'm me: queer (aspec), trans (neutrois), disabled (crazy + autistic), and low-income (ssdi). i'm semiverbal and use AAC/ASL most of the time. i'm also a wizard (ravenclaw), crafter (anything/everything), unschooler, and general nerd. i write: sometimes novels, sometimes songs about harry potter, sometimes-but-not-lately poetry, and sometimes *cough* blog posts. they/them/theirs or xe/xem/xyrs.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started